The Texas Securities Act - Part 20
Sec. 35. Fees.
The Commissioner or Board shall charge and collect the following fees and shall daily pay all fees received into the State Treasury:
A. The Board shall establish the following fees in amounts so that the aggregate amount that exceeds the amount of the fees on September 1, 2002, produces sufficient revenue to cover the costs of administering and enforcing this Act:
(1) for the filing of any original, amended, or renewal application to sell or dispose of securities, an amount not to exceed $100;
(2) for the filing of any original application of a dealer or investment adviser or for the submission of a notice filing for a federal covered investment adviser, an amount not to exceed $100;
(3) for the filing of any renewal application of a dealer or investment adviser or for the submission of a renewal notice filing for a federal covered investment adviser, an amount not to exceed $100;
(4) for the filing of any original application for each agent, officer, or investment adviser representative or for the submission of a notice filing for each representative of a federal covered investment adviser, an amount not to exceed $100; and
(5) for the filing of any renewal application for each agent, officer, or investment adviser representative or for the submission of a renewal notice filing for each representative of a federal covered investment adviser, an amount not to exceed $100.
B. The Commissioner or Board shall charge and collect the following fees and shall daily pay all fees received into the State Treasury:
(1) for any filing to amend the registration certificate of a dealer or investment adviser or evidence of registration of an agent or investment adviser representative, issue a duplicate certificate or evidence of registration, or register a branch office, $25;
(2) for the examination of any original or amended application filed under Subsection A, B, or C of Section 7 of this Act, regardless of whether the application is denied, abandoned, withdrawn, or approved, a fee of one-tenth (1/10) of one percent (1%) of the aggregate amount of securities described and proposed to be sold to persons located within this state based upon the price at which such securities are to be offered to the public;
(3) for certified copies of any papers filed in the office of the Commissioner, the Commissioner shall charge such fees as are reasonably related to costs; however, in no event shall such fees be more than those which the Secretary of State is authorized to charge in similar cases;
(4) for the filing of any application for approval of a stock exchange so that securities fully listed thereon will be exempt, a fee of $10,000;
(5) for the filing of a request to take the Texas Securities Law Examination, $35;
(6) for the filing of an initial notice required by the Commissioner to claim a secondary trading exemption, a fee of $500, and for the filing of a secondary trading exemption renewal notice, a fee of $500;
(7) for the filing of an initial notice required by the Commissioner to claim a limited offering exemption, a fee of one-tenth (1/10) of one percent (1%) of the aggregate amount of securities described as being offered for sale, but in no case more than $500; and
(8) for an interpretation by the Board's general counsel of this Act or a rule adopted under this Act, a fee of $100, except that an officer or employee of a governmental entity and the entity that the officer or employee represents are exempt from the fee under this subsection when the officer or employee is conducting official business of the entity.
C. Subject to Subsection A of this section, the Board shall set a fee under this section in an amount that is reasonable and necessary to defray costs.
D. A cost incurred by the Board in administering this Act may be paid only from a fee collected under Subsection A of this section.
Sec. 35-1. Fees for Sales of Excess Securities.
A. An offeror who sells securities in this State in excess of the aggregate amount of securities registered for the offering may apply to register the excess securities by paying three times the difference between the initial fee paid and the fee required under Subsection B(2) of Section 35, plus, if the registration is no longer in effect, interest on that amount computed at the rate provided by Section 302.002, Finance Code, from the date the registration was no longer in effect until the date the subsequent application is filed, for the securities sold to persons within this State, plus the amendment fee prescribed by Subsection A(1) of Section 35. Registration of the excess securities, if granted, shall be effective retroactively to the effective date of the initial registration for the offering.
B. An offeror who has filed a notice to claim a limited offering exemption, who paid less than the maximum fee prescribed in Subsection B(7) of Section 35, and who offered a greater amount of securities in the offering than authorized pursuant to the formula prescribed in Subsection B(7) of Section 35, may file an amended notice disclosing the amount of securities offered and paying three times the difference between the fee initially paid and the fee which should have been paid, plus interest on that amount computed at the rate provided by Section 302.002, Finance Code, from the date the original notice was received by the Commissioner until the date the amended notice is received by the Commissioner. The amended notice shall be retroactive to the date of the initial filing.
Sec. 35-2. Fees for Sales of Unregistered Securities.
If, after notice and hearing, the Commissioner or any court of competent jurisdiction finds that an offeror has sold securities in this State pursuant to an offering no part of which has been registered under Section 7 or 10 of this Act and for which the transactions or securities are not exempt under Section 5 or 6 of this Act, the Commissioner or said court may impose a fee equal to six times the amount that would have been paid if the issuer had filed an application to register the securities and paid the fee prescribed by Subsection B(2) of Section 35 based on the aggregate amount of sales made in this State within the prior three years, plus interest on that amount at the rate provided by Section 302.002, Finance Code, from the date of the first such sale made in this State until the date the fee is paid. The payment of the fee prescribed by this Section does not effect registration of the securities or affect the application of any other Section of this Act. The payment of the fee prescribed by this Section is not an admission that the transactions or securities were not exempt and is not admissible as evidence in a suit or proceeding for failure to register the securities.
Sec. 36. Deposit to General Revenue Fund.
Upon and after the effective date of this Act all moneys received from fees, assessments, or charges under this Act shall be paid by the Commissioner or Board into the General Revenue Fund. If the Commissioner or Board determines that all or part of a registration fee should be refunded, the Commissioner may make the refund by warrant on the State Treasury from funds appropriated from the General Revenue Fund for that purpose.
Sec. 37. Pleading Exemptions.
It shall not be necessary to negative any of the exemptions in this Act in any complaint, information or indictment, or any writ or proceeding laid or brought under this Act; and the burden of proof of any such exemption shall be upon the party claiming the same.
Sec. 38. Partial Invalidity; Severability.
The provisions of this Act are severable, and in the event that any provision thereof should be declared void or unconstitutional, it is hereby declared that the remaining provisions would have been enacted notwithstanding such judicial determination of the invalidity of any particular provision or provisions in any respect, and said sections shall remain in full force and effect.